Knickerbocker Please!

by June

If you know me, then you know that I am a die-hard fan of the New York Knicks.  That right there should be a sign that there is something utterly insane about me.  It should also tell you something about my loyalty.  I never trusted people that were fans of teams from random cities or from places that they had never been to before.

The past decade I’ve been ridiculed for being a Knicks fan by “fans” of the Lakers, Suns, Mavericks, Celtics, Cavaliers, Nets, basically any teams that experienced success this past decade (except for the Spurs and Pistons, no one ever really liked them).  The most common thing I’ve heard is: “Bro, the Knicks suck, why do you like them?” To which I’d sarcastically reply, “I’m into self-loathing.”  The fact is I’ve been a Knicks fan since the mid 90’s.  They were a gritty team.  When they made the Finals in 1999 as the 8th seed, they were the underdog.  I couldn’t help but fall in love and become emotionally invested in the team.  But from that moment until now, the Knicks and I have been in an abusive relationship.  A relationship that can be described by Sam Cooke’s “Nobody Knows The Trouble I’ve Seen.”

Now we are on the eve of LeBron coming to New York.  Amar’e is already on board.  The pieces are set.  This is the way it’s meant to be.  LeBron is the biggest player in the league and now he will get to play in the biggest city in the world.  There is a sense among Knicks fan that is summed up by another Sam Cooke song, ” A Change Is Gonna Come.”

After all the heartache and pain and lies and disappointment, finally, a change is gonna come.  Tomorrow night will be the start of a new era.  It will be a transition going from underdog to favorite.  A part of me really likes being the underdog.  But the story of the underdog coming out on top is one that will be well deserved.

A LOT of people are still hating on the Knicks despite seeing the writing on the walls.  If you wanna jump on the bandwagon, do it now, don’t wait until LeBron makes it official tomorrow night.  I’ll give you a pass.  Take advantage of it.

Go NY Go NY GO!

