Year 24: Chasing Dreams and Chasing Shots

by June

Today isn’t about me.  It’s about you.

Lately I’ve been reflecting a lot on every aspect of life.  Not just my life.  But life in its entire complexity.  If you know me personally, then you know that the past 2 or so years have been the toughest years of my life.  The tragedies outweighed the triumphs.  I’ve dealt with friends and family passing away.  I’ve dealt with being a nomad and not knowing where I would rest my head at any given night.  I spent my 22nd birthday in a hospital watching my mom battle with a cancerous tumor.  My 23rd I spent dealing with a tough and eventually ugly break-up.  Heck, even when I was vacationing, on my last day, I ended up being involved in a car accident where the car was totaled, and I ended up unconscious and with no recollection of anything that had happened.  I didn’t even know where I was.  And of course, green paper is always an issue, the creditors and their daily 8am wake up calls made sure I didn’t forget that.  But even worse than the demands for money were the demands for my time.  It’s a cold world out there without any time and money.  Ultimately, the past 2 years were filled with an unhealthy lack of balance.

So why am I sharing this?

Because I don’t have to protect those thoughts and memories anymore.  I’ve taken the lessons.  I’ve gained appreciation.  I’ve gained perspective. I’ve evolved.

Today it isn’t about me.  It’s about you.

It’s about everyone that helped me get through that  storm.  It’s about those that still believed, even if the decisions I made were only rooted in the dream.  It’s about everyone who tells me to blow the dust off my turntables.  It’s about everyone who let me crash at their spot, even if it was just a pillow and a floor.  It’s about anyone that gave me a meal swipe just so I wouldn’t have to keep eating those damn Wendy’s chicken nuggets.  It’s about everyone who saw something in me and gave me a shot.  It’s about everyone who checks this blog on a daily basis, even though I post sporadically.  It’s about those not around anymore, and how thankful I am for the memories.  It’s about the people that I look forward to celebrating life with.  It’s about those I’m just starting to collaborate with and the magic we’re going to make. It’s about everyone in my fantasy leagues.  It’s about everyone that plays flag football on Sundays.  It’s about everyone that’s coming out to Teak in Hoboken this Saturday night! LOL

I dedicate this year to you.  Even if I don’t know you yet, this year I’ll work my ass off for you, in the hope that when we do meet, you’ll only get an improved version of myself.  I’m just really thankful and grateful.  You seldom catch me complaining about much nowadays.  Escaped too much to sweat the small stuff.  I don’t even complain about the Knicks anymore because Year 24 will be the year the Knicks return to the playoffs!

I’m in a really good place right now. Mentally, physically, emotionally, spiritually, financially lol.  I feel good.  I even got health insurance!

I tell everyone that age 19 was by far the greatest year to date.  I have a strong feeling that 24 is going to blow 19 out of the water.

…And if that “strong feeling” isn’t enough then there’s always this diesel ass plan that I have to make sure that things go the way I want them to go and that I end up where I see myself at.

As a Libra, I long for balance, so welcome to Year 24, where I will chase my dreams (a.k.a. work my ass off and continue to learn) and chase shots (a.k.a. enjoy the moment and the people in my life).

Cheers to a balanced life…

 

And oh yea, I’m typing all this while I take a break from working on the mixtape.

I’m back.

